5 Tissues* Chick Flick Nite – “Things we Lost in the Fire”

Standard

mv5bmtg4mzkwmta0n15bml5banbnxkftztcwndgzmdu1mq_v1_sy140_sx100_.jpg

 Hope comes with letting go.…..A recent widow invites her husband’s troubled best friend to live with her and her two children. As he gradually turns his life around, he helps the family cope and confront their loss.   

I am going to start my own rating system for the movies that I rent.  Instead of 5 stars I will use a scale of tissues, 1-5.   You see, I get all my emotional and hormonal blockages cleared out on Monday night, “Chick Flick Nite”.   I indulge in take out, something sweet, get in my jammies early and watch a girly movie that my other half has no interest in (or tolerance for).  I am a sucker for the real tragic ones involving you know, the terminally ill, death, abuse….. hardcore.  But they are usually the films in which I find good lessons and they always help put life in perspective.  Don’t get me wrong, I am a sucker for a Meg Ryan or John Cusack movie with a happy ending.  Just that sometimes us chicks need a good cry, and if you are past due for a good cry just let me know and I will set you up with the perfect movie to purge all that stored up ick.    

    

“Things we Lost in the Fire” is a five tissue movie, quite literally maybe six or seven.  Raw, powerful, tragic, yet beautiful and full of lots of hope.  The tragedy  is in your face right from the beginning – death – addiction – very slow and deliberate it does not ever seem to cease. But through all the challenges these characters go through we see beautiful moments, moments of hope, moments of tenderness, of charity, of love…. it is a movie about being human and surviving thanks to the help of others (whose lives are equally as fucked up as your own).     

    

Accept the Good 

One response »

Leave a Reply

