Chick Flick Nite – “P.S. I Love You”

Standard

Or what I did instead of going to see the Cure at BU tonight.

SOB – 5 Tissues

Make that half a box of tissues.  Heart-wrenching, I think I cried through the whole damn movie, (muttering curses and swears at the screen under my breath), I even had to take a few “Pause” breaks to compose myself (Damn, puffy eyes, I am going to look like hell tomorrow).

To all my girlfriends out there who expressed wanting to see this movie, I warn you it is not to be taken lightly.  Sure it has comedic moments, a giggle here and snicker there but mostly it is just romantic and sad, and sad and romantic, and sad, did I say sad?  Sob, sniff, I need another tissue.

The story goes something like this: 

Holly Kennedy is beautiful, smart and married to the love of her life – a passionate, funny, and impetuous Irishman named Gerry. So when Gerry’s life is taken by an illness, it takes the life out of Holly. The only one who can help her is the person who is no longer there. Nobody knows Holly better than Gerry. So it’s a good thing he planned ahead. Before he died, Gerry wrote Holly a series of letters that will guide her, not only through her grief, but in rediscovering herself.  In the weeks and months that follow, more letters from Gerry are delivered in surprising ways, each sending her on a new adventure and each signing off in the same way; P.S. I Love You. Holly’s mother and best friends begin to worry that Gerry’s letters are keeping Holly tied to the past, but in fact, each letter is pushing her further into a new future. With Gerry’s words as her guide, Holly embarks on a journey of rediscovery in a story about marriage, friendship and how a love so strong can turn the finality of death into a new beginning for life.

Staring Hilary Swank, Gerard Butler (King Leo of the 300, yummy). Directed by Richard LaGravenese 

I recommend the movie solely for cathartic purposes, you know, to clean out all those emotional cobwebs that have been cluttering up and fogging your brain.  It’s the kinda movie that you pull out when you need to have a pity-party.  I would not recommend it for entertainment purposes only, not a date night movie, although it does have a “happy” ending it is inevitable that it will turn a good evening bad- very, very, very sad.

With all that being said, I was asked by my other half, “Did you like the movie?”.  I have to say yes, definitely, yes.  I knew the premise of the story going into it and assumed it had potential for tears yet I did not expect it to be so emotionally heavy. (And, no, stop what you are thinking, the hormones are on the up swing this week, not down) 

Again like many movies mad these days, this screenplay is based on a book by Cecelia Ahern. (I have not read it) I have though read some lay-critics reviews that imply that the book is better, but my response to them is- well isn’t the book always better?  Think about that.

Best line in the movie:

Every morning I still wake up and the first thing I want to do is to see your face.

 

 And, YES, my college buddy and I had tickets to see The Cure in concert tonight…. but the stars were not aligned in our favor to go.  Ten months ago when we purchased the tix it seemed like a smashingly fantastic idea, reliving our youth, but alas, last week we realized that we are just too damn old and too distracted by life to not only see a show in Boston on a Monday night, but allow ourselves to enjoy it as we did in our “youth”.  Maybe that is why I felt so melancholy tonight, unconsciously I yearn to goth myself out and sing along to Robert Smith crooning “One more time”.  

 

2 responses »

  1. Found your blog listed on my Google Alert for “Andy Garcia” (LOL) . I read a few of your postings and I wanted to say that I really enjoy your writing but this post struck home with me.

    The film was heart wrenching. I saw it last month, shortly after my father had passed away. Needless to say, I must have gone through a whole box of tissues. Beautiful film.

    Also, I can so relate to this: “Maybe that is why I felt so melancholy tonight, unconsciously I yearn to goth myself out and sing along to Robert Smith crooning “One more time”. Damn, life was so much simpler back then, wasn’t it? Now, pass me my eyeliner and black boots…..LOL

  2. Thank You Jennifer. It is very nice to hear that you enjoy my blog (to be honest I hear mostly from Family and friends).

    I am sorry about your father. Unfortunately loss is one of those things about life that just plain sucks. I have suffered many losses this year, though none as significant as a parent. Each one is different & they never get easier. My sincerest condolences to you and your family.

    I find my obsession with movies, especially the chick flicks, helps me regularly purge all that ick inside so that it does not build up & fester. P.S. I Love You was certainly one of those movies.

    Lastly, you never really lose the goth or punk part of your soul do you? I look forward to retiring…. the day that I don’t have to have a 9-5 job any more I am shaving my head like Sinead O’Connor and when it grows in stubby dye it purple or green! Rock on!

Leave a Reply

