Laziness has set in…

Standard

Hey look at that, this ended up being a halfway decent blog post

I think, NO, I know I really needed a few days off from work and life in general.  However is it possible that three days vacation is just too long for me?  Laziness, sheer and unadulterated laziness had enough time to dig it’s ugly claws into me, deep into me.  That is why I have not blogged, nor done any chores, nor made any decisions, nor returned any e-mails, nor called anyone back since sometime last week.  I have been living in a hedonistic bubble and have been enjoying it a little too much (What makes it more fun is that my other half, H, has been in the bubble with me, we are very bad influences on one another)

I am hoping now that I am back to work that my routine will also kick back in.  

All is not lost though.  I did manage to fulfill a commitment other than work today.  I had my first volunteer shift at the Cat Shelter tonight.  Scooping poop, folding laundry, washing floors and playing/snuggling with the kitties.   I made some feline friends, and some grumps have yet to warm up to me.  The place is rampant with kittens right now, there are easily 3 dozen running around the place.  You have to watch your every step to not stomp on one.  They are a riot to watch scamper, jump and roll.  But then there is one named “cupcake” that breaks my heart.  Her rear legs are nearly paralyzed and then there are her five brothers & sisters trample all over her.  It is my understanding that she may be able to be rehabilitated to walk again, but the commitment to get her there is PT every two or so hours, unfortunately it appears that frequency is too intense for the volunteer infrastructure of the organization at this moment.   I wish I had the time to be able to help her.  But I am going to keep an eye out for that special person who may be able to be her angel.  In the meantime I might stop by some extra time to hold her and give her some Reiki.  I have to remember to keep it all in perspective. Number one – I must remind myself that I cannot save the world.  And out of all the cats there at the moment it is amazing that she is the only one with a severe disability like that.  I am sure that the shelter has seen worse injuries and disabilities, and if I am in it for the long haul I will probably see worse as well.  Cupcake is loved regardless of disability and will eventually find a forever home that is perfect for her needs.  Cats aside, the humans there are pretty cool too, they are good peeps who set time aside and volunteer because they care about the cats. I think I am going to really like it there.  I’ll keep you all posted.  And still the answer is NO I have not come home with a cat yet.  

Since my regular shift at the shelter is going to be Monday nights I am going to have to probably permanently move “Chick Flick Nite” to another day of the week.  Right now I am thinking Thursday, but I won’t make any promises.  Nonetheless I enjoy my movie time and want to set aside that special time for me to indulge in the latest chick flicks, cry/sob/sniffle/tear, and inform all of you my opinion on the number of tissues you will need to properly enjoy the film. 

I will try banish the laziness and finish up the “vacation post” with pics tomorrow or Wednesday.  ‘Til then namaste.

 

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

