Chick Flick Nite – Sob – 5+ Tissues

Standard

I am a sucker for a Meg Ryan Movie

I Love my Tivo, Instant chick Flick!  Tonight I watched one of my favorite Chick Flicks, “City of Angels”. 

Best Quote:” I would rather have had one breath of her hair, one kiss of her mouth, one touch of her hand, than eternity without it. One.” 

It might be contrived, unoriginal, predictable, and sappy, but I love it, and cry every time I watch it.  

Seth, an angel watching over Los Angeles, begins finding his job difficult as he falls in love with Maggie, a beautiful heart surgeon. She becomes interested in Seth, and soon his not-quite-mortal state seems a barrier rather than a gift. A choice must be made between celestial duty and earthly love.   Written by Matthew C. Powell {mpowell@clunet.edu}

I had once told a very good friend that “City of Angels” was going to be on TV after work and recommended that she watch it.  At the time we were going through a very difficult period together, having a mutual friend and close colleague suddenly pass away.  You know what it’s like ladies…. when you need to purge those horribly intense emotions that are toxic and poisoning your body, you need to continue with your grieving but need a different outlet- something to distract you that you can legitimately cry to other than the loss.

We both watched it, her at her home and me at my apartment.  She called me immediately as the credits started rolling, SOBBING, saying something along the lines of (paraphrased) “You suck, what kind of friend are you, BAD movie, you sadistic bitch”, SOB SOB SOB then “Thank you I really needed that”. I love you K if you read this!

Ladies- rent it, tivo it, hell I would buy it if my local DVD store carried a used copy of it.  But please don’t make me say “I told you so” or “I warned you”, save it for a day when you feel that ICK inside that needs to come out. And have a whole box of tissues next to you….. 5+ tissues.

Leave a Reply

