Registering your DNA could Save a Life

Standard

As fate would have it…..

A few weeks ago I was at a local “Business Expo”.  The type of event where all sorts of companies fill a convention center with booths about their product or services.  Not really my cup of tea, but it was free, I had time to kill between work/other life stuff and they had free food cooked up by local restaurants at the  “Business After Hours”, so I stopped by to check it out. 

Needless to say it was an experience of a lifetime because I walked out of the place having registered with the Caitlin Raymond International Registry through U-Mass Memorial Medical Center.  (And as a reward I got a nice sweatshirt for the gesture, but really folks that was not my intention)

A few cotton swabs to the inside of my cheeks, I am now in the international registry for bone marrow and stem cell donation to help treat life threatening diseases like leukemia and lymphoma among others.

During the process I talking with the young man who worked/volunteered for the center (who happened to grow up not to far from where I now live) and asked him “What are the chances that I will be someone’s match?”

As a caucasian, about 1:10,000

Now those are slim odds that I will actually end up saving someone’s life, but you never know, it’s a small world.

For more information about how you can register to be a donor check out their website:

Caitlin Raymond    International Registry

 

Leave a Reply

